Transfer Files Ownership

Now with Google Drive™ cross-domain file transfer:
you are free in your movements.

See our Privacy Policy.


Transfer or copy your Google Drive™ files recursively between accounts in different Google Workspace™ domains and/or free accounts, migrate files to another Google Drive™ account, also create file lists, copy folder structures without files or with shortcuts to files. Transferred files retain ID, metadata and version history after migration. If any target subfolder does not exist, it is created with a new ID. All permissions are reset and inherited from the target folder. If the source folder is also the target folder, then the transfer of ownership occurs in-place.


Processing large volumes (more than 5,000 files) can take hours due to performance degradation by your storage provider and recover some time after the operation completes. The copy operation may take even longer than the transfer.


Please note:

  1. To transfer ownership between users in the same domain, it is hardly worth using this application. Better contact your domain administrator for a free transfer.

  2. To transfer ownership between users of free accounts like gmail.com, you might use the Google Drive™ web interface folder by folder.


Even these users can benefit from the free features

- creating a list of files and folders,

- creating a hierarchical folder structure without files,

- creating a hierarchical folder structure with shortcuts to original files.

Subscription

A subscription with credits by the number of files is required to transfer or copy. Check this add-on subscription for this webapp in Credits in the upper right corner of the application window:

To perform a copy or transfer operation, the sender or recipient of the files must have a valid subscription with the required number of credits equal to the number of files.

FAQ

Q. When I try to install the app from the Google Workspace Marketplace, my Google Drive says "this application is not allowed by your administrator". What to do..?

A. You can use the web version of this application.


Q. Among the files to be transferred, there are many files belonging to other users, which causes many warnings. How to avoid it?

A. Only the owner of the files can transfer files to another account. To skip other users' files, select the "Skip files owned by other users" option.
If another owner applies this utility to the same folder, press "Create URL for files recipient", and sends the link to you, then you can transfer their files
.


Q. When I try to transfer my files, one or more errors appear during operation: The user does not have sufficient permissions for this file. How to get around this issue?

A. Several reasons can cause this error:

  1. To transfer a file, the original user must be the owner of the file. Only the owner can transfer ownership to another user. Pay attention to the Owner column in the report and selected source account.

  2. The user to whom the file is transferred must have the rights to move it to the target folder.

  3. If you are transferring a file from a Google Workspace account (not @gmail.com) and encounter an administrator's prohibition on transferring files outside the organization, you can choose file copy mode. In this case, the copied files will have IDs and URLs to access them different from the original ones. Previous versions of files will also not be available in copies, only the most recent ones will remain.



Q. How do I transfer my Google Drive file(s) to an unknown recipient?

A. Do the following:

  1. Install the Google Drive add-on.

  2. Select the file(s) to transfer.

  3. Click the Transfer Files button.

  4. Open the add-on and press "Create URL for files recipient".

  5. Set the expiration date for the transfer link you are creating.

  6. Create a link and send it to the recipient.


Q. How do I transfer my Google Drive files to different users?

A. Do the following:

  1. Install the Google Drive add-on.

  2. Select the folders you want to transfer to one of the users.

  3. Open the add-on, press "Create URL for files recipient", and send the link to the user to transfer your files. Set the lifetime of the link long enough for the acceptor to process it.

  4. Repeat steps 2-3 for other folders that you want to transfer to other users.